“I often joke that he was my one and only sugar daddy!” Eva Marie Saint on Alfred Hitchcock and North by Northwest

I laughed way too hard!!

BEGUILING HOLLYWOOD

hitchcock evamariesaint

When I got the role, I had just given birth to my daughter Laurette Hayden. So, after I lost a few pounds, Hitch began the process of transforming me into Eve Kendall. He personally oversaw all of the details of Bill Tuttle’s glamorous makeup designs and the sophisticated hairstyles of Sydney Guilaroff. But he wasn’t so crazy about MGM’s costumes for me. The studio designed a wardrobe for my character but Hitchcock didn’t like it and threw out almost everything. Then he took me to Bergdorf Goodman in New York and we selected the rest of my wardrobe right off the models. I often joke that he was my one and only sugar daddy!

Via: the.hitchcock.zone

View original post

Leave a Reply

